Introduction to Nuclear Chemistry and Fuel Cycle Separations

Short Course

December 16-18, 2008, Vanderbilt University School of Engineering – Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Nashville, TN

Co-Supported by NRC Curriculum Development Grant and the Department of Energy, Office of Environmental Management through CRESP

Organizing Committee:
Raymond G. Wymer, Chair, Vanderbilt University
David S. Kosson, Vice-Chair, Vanderbilt University
Cynthia Atkins-Duffin, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
David DePaoli, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Kathryn Higley, Oregon State University
Terry Todd, Idaho National Laboratory

Agenda and Course information

Course Agenda



Presentation (Powerpoint)

Welcome and Course Introduction David S. Kosson, Vanderbilt University
20 Years of Progress in Processing Nuclear Waste Mark Gilbertson, Department of Energy
Nuclear Fuel Cycle Fundamentals Frank L. Parker, Vanderbilt University
Mining, Milling, Conversion and Enrichment of Uranium Ores Clarence Hardy, Nuclear Fuel Australia, Ltd
Nuclear Radiation Robert Sindelar, Savannah River National Laboratory
Reactors and Fuels Allen Croff, ORNL, ret., and USNRC
Spent Fuel Reprocessing Robert Jubin, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

(file size 31.5MB)

Non-aqueous Processes Mike Goff, Idaho National Laboratory
Precipitation/Crystallization/Sorption Processes Gordon Jarvinen, Los Alamos National Laboratory
Complexation Reactions in Nuclear Separations Raymond G. Wymer, Vanderbilt University
Liquid – Liquid Extraction Equipment Jack Law, Idaho National Laboratory
Waste Forms for an Advanced Fuel Cycle John Vienna, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
Environmental Transport Kathryn Higley, Oregon State University
Modeling and Simulation of Nuclear Fuel Recycling Systems David DePaoli, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Sol-Gel Synthesized Sorbent Development and
Analysis for Column Separations
Lawrence Tavlarides, Syracuse University
Quantifying the Risk of Nuclear
Fuel Recycling Facilities
B. John Garrick, U.S. Nuclear Waste Technical Review Board
Nuclear Nonproliferation Cynthia Atkins-Duffin, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
  • News & Updates Categories
  • Monthly Archives
  • Archives
  • Categories
    • No categories
  • Courses